Harold 'Hal' B. Myrick

Harold ‘Hal’ B. Myrick

Dear hockey players & parents,

It is with great honor that the Hal Myrick Scholarship Fund has decided to award a high school scholarship to recognize a High School Hockey Player that plans on attending post-secondary education. The applicants must be Brunswick High School Seniors who have played in the Boys’ Ice Hockey Program.

The scholarship amount will be an amount up to (not exceeding) $1000. This award was created and made possible by donations from members of the community who knew and respected Coach Myrick.  This scholarship will be awarded annually (as funds are available).

Selection will be based on applicant’s essay, scholastic achievement, coach’s recommendation, teacher evaluations and extracurricular activities. Also, other criteria the selection committee will be looking at, include (but not limited to): grades, sportsmanship, coachability, dedication, commitment, and work ethic during their tenure as a player.

As many of you know, Hal Myrick was a part of the hockey community for decades. He started coaching hockey to young players in 1975 as a Mite coach for Brunswick Youth Hockey and continued at the Squirt, Peewee, Bantam and Midget levels. In 1984, he organized and coached the first Brunswick Junior High School Hockey team. At the High School level, Hal started coaching the Boys’ JV team in 1980 and became the Varsity coach in 1988 from which he retired in 2000. In 2007, Hal returned to coaching as an assistant coach on the BJH B Team, and in 2008, he became the BJH A Team coach. He continued in this role until his death in November 2010.

Items of interest:
Application needs to be postmarked by March 1st.
Teachers’ recommendation needs to be postmarked by March 1st.
Coach’s recommendation needs to be postmarked by March 1st.
Presentation to scholarship recipient will be made at the Team Banquet in late March.

For a copy of the application, please download the Hal Myrick Scholarship Application (PDF)

For questions, email scholarship@brunswickhockey.org
2010-2011 recipient: Charlie Frye
2011-2012 recipient: Blake Bodwell

Harold ‘Hal’ B. Myrick Obituary: